Go to the Homepage Seafloor ElectroMagnetic Consortium website Go to About Us Go to Research Projects Go to Resources Go to Instruments Go to Links Visit UCSD Home Page

Members' Site
Commercial Availability


Seafloor Electromagnetic Methods Consortium

The Seafloor Electromagnetic Methods Consortium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography develops electromagnetic methods for the purpose of offshore petroleum exploration. Consortium support since 1996 has led to the development of a highly reliable marine EM receiver, the active-source EM method for exploration, an acitve-source EM transmitter system, the marine MT method for mapping of 3D salt structures, EM software and modeling tools, and supported many marine EM graduate students. Please visit the links at left to learn more about the SEMC. Also, the tabs at the top of this page offer more information about the Marine EM Laboratory's research and resources.

The Principal Investigator for the SEMC is Steven Constable. The SEMC also funds graduate students Peter Kannberg, Dallas Sherman, Yuxiang Zhang, Dan Blatter, Chloe Gustafson, Christine Chesley, and Valeria Reyes-Ortega. Arnold Orange joined our group in 2007 as a Research Associate, and Len Srnka in 2013 as a Professor of Practice. Past students, postdocs and Project Scientists supported by SEMC funds include: Kerry Key, James Behrens, Yuguo Li, Ashley Medin, Karen Weitemeyer, Dylan Connell, David Myer, Brent Wheelock, Vanessa Brown, Derrick Hasterok, Samer Naif, Anandaroop Ray, Thomas Martin, Mike Sly, and Georgianna Zelenak.

Access the members' pages, click here***

*You must authenticate yourself with an username and password to access this site.

Current sponsors of the SEMC

  • BGP International
  • Chevron
  • EMGS
  • Geophysical Resources and Services
  • GERD
  • Idemitsu Petroleum Norge AS
  • JGI, Inc.
  • KMS Technologies
  • Ocean Floor Geophysics
  • Petrobras
  • Petroleum Geo-Services
  • PetroMarker
  • Repsol
  • Rock Solid Images
  • Shell
  • Statoil
Last updated: Friday, 13-Oct-2017 13:12:34 PDT
email: sconstable@ucsd.edu